August 7th, Bring the Rain

August 7, 2009

Rainfall between 6am and 2pm.Fished early this morning attempting to find Trico’s hatching. Water temp was 56 degrees upon arrival and the stream was tea colored making for good conditions but no real hatch to speak of. I saw a rising trout and put a Trico pattern on it for a strike but a miss on the hook set. I was hoping for more from the trico’s but no luck so I swapped for a nymph rig. Caddis and Sparkle Larva on my line makes for a deadly fly factory.

I left the camera battery at home which may have been a blessing in surprise as the rain began at alittle before 9am and did not let up, I can see myself getting it soaked. I fished with my soon to be brother-in-law this morning who has only fly fished for trout once before. He did well and I only had to tie a few knots, for the most part Joel was on his own. The rain let up and the sparkle larvae out fished the caddis larva five to one. I took seven trout from a single run of twenty feet, that was sweet. I’m catching fish after fish and I look over and Joel has a fish on, and what a fish! He took the size prize landing a 15in brown for his second trout for the day. We left at noon walking out in the mud and rain, I loved it. The streams need the water, so does my garden. At home I checked the rain gauge at 6am when I left the house, nothing. By 2pm we’ve had more than a half an inch of rain which is more precipitation than we’ve had since I started taking daily measurements on July 1st. I will have to swing by my CSMP site tomorrow.

3 Responses to “August 7th, Bring the Rain”

  1. Hey,

    Is yer’ RSS feed on?

    I am trying to hook you to my site…

    PT/TB 🙂

  2. We’re in the same boat, but the little rain we got yesterday was much needed. But, our city just asked that all residences cease watering their yards with culinary water (most of the houses have secondary water from a canal or spring, except some of us don’t). So it looks like the new sod I put in a month ago may bite the dust. Ahhh…life in the desert!

    Congrats o the fishing and especially to Joel for scoring the big one.

    -scott c

Leave a Reply

