July 17th, The Hunt Is On

July 18, 2009

Smile.For everything I can catch on a fly rod. It is my goal to acquaint myself with all varieties of fly fishing and fish that can be caught on the fly. Thinking about it, I live on the Mighty Mississippi River with a large variety of fish and places to fish. So with that, when the moment struck for me to play around with my 3wt on a recent cloudy/windy/generally crappy day I made lemonade… out of sunfish. I played around with various streamer patterns and eventually settled into a few sunfish taking, of all things, a bright yellow Baetis nymph I tie for trout. It just looked like it would work so I went with it and it did. Funny to see my strike indicator slowly walking away from me, I laughed. I will be on the lookout for more opportunities to take warm water species so you should be on the lookout for more from, The Winona Fly Factory.

One Response to “July 17th, The Hunt Is On”

  1. Phillip said

    I don’t know how I missed this blog entry, but either way, nice job! I find a lot of times, the ‘gills around here will feed on baetis, emergers and midges of all things, just like a trout would.

Leave a Reply

