Meet My Stream Buddies

July 16, 2009

Looking Downstream at the WallI visited my CSMP sites today for my weekly visit and took this photo of the fish that inhabit the area near my first location. I counted close to twenty fish, all brown trout, as I sat watching from behind the concrete wall. I’m pleased that I haven’t found much in the way of trash since I was here last. As the site is near the roadside I expect to see a fair amount of trash accumulate in the rocks that form the bank closest to the road. I took my typical readings and during periods of no rain it remains fairly constant, recently a rain fall event of .39in found the stream transparency to be affected even the next day. This stream will remain quite clear most of the time and to get more accurate measurments of stream transparency the MPCA sent me a longer transparency tube. At 100cm, what seems crystal clear may not actually be as clear as you think. 

My Friends

I decided to sample and monitor a second site downstream from this site at a bridge location to see the difference between the two sites as rain fall events occur. I have added a second data sheet and will include the second set of data when turning in the total summers data. I have begun to really enjoy this time near the stream and the trout, with fishing not typically on my mind I find I approach the fish wanting only to observe, get to know my new friends and after a while I might have names for a few of them, at least the biggest brown.

3 Responses to “Meet My Stream Buddies”

  1. Scudly said

    Justin I have fished that spot. Can you tell me what that structure used to be? An old dam or old mill? There is a nice deep hole right there. I will be back in August. Cannot wait to get back and fish it! I stopped at that bridge on my way out and did not have time to venture upstream. Just a few casts by that structure.

  2. I’m not sure what the structure used to be, I’m thinking a mill of sorts.

  3. Great CSMP report here. Glad to have you on that – appreciate your time and work.

Leave a Reply

