June 1st, Year 2: Day 1

June 2, 2009

Wendy B. Early AMWoke at 4am to prepare myself for a bit of a drive and a full day of fly fishing. Met Wendy B., consolidated and slimmed to one ride to take to the trout stream.  The plan was to fish in two areas, one in the morning (7am-10am) and one later during a potential hatching period (11am-4pm). The morning went well, the small stream was an interesting environment and after some discussion we were rigged and ready to catch trout. I managed to fumble almost immediately requiring me to cut my line and tie everything on again, bummer but certainly not the feeling for the day. 

Two Fish On, Two Fly Fishing FoolsWe fished for almost three hours on the first stream, Wendy B. nymphed quite a few trout out from here while I only managed to get one and I didn’t land it. It took a PT in shallow water, jumped three times and with the last launch shook his head once and said have a good rest of the day. It was a decent sized brown and would have been the larger fish for the morning, I would have liked to shake that fish’s fin. After a while nymphing this smaller stream the water temps were rising and we moved on to larger water in search of dry fly opportunities. 

We arrived and I took an initial water temp of ~59 degrees, optimal water temp for hatching Light Hendricksons and as we found out, about a million other insects. We didn’t see much for rising trout, Wendy let loose taking fish after fish on a nymph rig, I waited and decided to rig a dry Light Hendrickson pattern trailed with an emerger pattern. While Wendy was nymphing we both noticed a rise from a larger brown at the head of the pool, I waited for one more rise. As Wendy worked the nymphs I moved to put myself in position to cast to the rising Brown at the head of the pool. Third pass was the ticket and with that Wendy and I were taking trout from the same hole at the exact same time, fly fishing with your friends can be a blast! This one fish made my day, I saw him, understood what needed to be done and set myself up. I made a cast across the current and managed to mend enough line upstream to keep the fly drag free just long enough to fool this beauty. 

Brown Trout caught on a #14 Light Hendrickson

March Brown Adult MayflyAlthough I took the one on a dry fly we found quickly that right then at that stream at that time dries were less than reliable. Although a trout might rise once in a while it just wasn’t worth it to try and force a rise, so many bugs were present it was also hard to determine what dry fly to use. At one point I saw Light Hendricksons, March Browns, Two Caddis species, one was for sure the “Little Black” Caddis (Chimarra aterrima) and stoneflies. Nymphing any one of these patterns was the sure ticket to trout. I managed to catch one of the many mayflies I saw flying around, I believe it was an Adult March Brown, not a sub-imago or “Dun”, the wings on the fly had clearly molted from the earlier stage and were the mottled clear/black you see in the picture.

We decided to move one last time, check out another stretch quick before packing it in. Saw a few more rising trout, I thought about nymphing but I decided to try taking one or two on dry flies, I attempted and failed, probably should have stuck with nymphing. Fishing with a like minded person can be excellent, we were constantly asking questions and trying new things. It’s great to bounce depth/weight amounts off another person, one might get the itch to switch to dries and if that works then both switch up. Also we discussed different approaches, where is the best location to cast from in a certain spot and what kind of drift are you looking for, two brains are better than one.

Wendy B. Fly FishingWe had a great day under sunny skies and after getting alittle tan we packed it in for the day. I had a blast and I got to fish and explore totally new water and it will be very close to where I am camping this coming weekend, how nice. Other quick notes, there are bigger bugs in bigger water, I will be working on tying some large stonefly nymph imitations for areas like this. Also, June seems to present an interesting challenge due to the variety of hatching insects, I will be working on several “attractor” dry fly patterns that might help produce a rising fish when so much is going on. 

Thanks again Wendy, I had an awesome time as expected.

 

 

March Brown/Molted ShellUpdate: After going back to the Jar with the March Brown I thought was an Adult Imago was infact a Sub-Imago at the time of the photo above, I know this because I found this the next day with a dead fly that had clearly molted, I wish I had seen it. I guess this is me admitting my ignorance.

 

6 Responses to “June 1st, Year 2: Day 1”

  1. Brian said

    dang, you’ve been pulling in some nice browns– good work!!

  2. Great day here – had a really enjoyable time on the stream. Your bug work is inspiring.

    We caught our share of fish. Eating some tonight.

    • Sweet man, I agree, smiles under the sun make for good days. Check your Q.com email. Until next time man, take care of those boys and your wife, oh and take a picture of those grapevines/raspberries now so you can do a before/after at the end of the summer, I’m curious how much they will explode.

      Oh and it turns out that Mayfly in the picture is a March Brown but more specifically it is an Adult Male, I found this out by looking at the head/eyes. Females have much smaller eyes, the one in the picture has big bulbus eyes, females have more propotional eye size with relation to the head.

  3. You guys would’ve found a better hatch further upstream from your second spot you fished….I gotta get there this season…

  4. Andy said

    I think we briefly talked as you two walked by me. I assume you went down into the state park?

    Shortly after you walked by me the fish started rising…smashing…something. I couldn’t see anything on the water. I remembered all the inch worms that had fallen on us at breakfast and sure enough when I looked closely there they were!

    I had fantastic fishing for about 30 minutes, with two 16″ fish and a dozen or so in the 12-14″ range….all on the ONE green inch worm fly I had in the general flies box. It is just green deer hair, “lashed” to the hook… but it worked!

    You don’t see this very often, but when you do….

    A few days later, while fishing upstream of that spot I was brutally attacked…by a snapping turtle! It went after a 14″ brown I had on.Once I managed to get the fish away from the turtle it turned on me! Luckily I had my wading staff in its holster and I quickly unfolded it and fended the savage beast off! I turned away…then turned around and came after me again! I stabbed this time a lot more agressively and it went it’s way. It stayed in the run we were fishing for another 30 minutes or so trying to grab an unsuspecting trout.

    • Interesting Andy, thanks for posting the comment. I’ll keep the inch worm in mind, I have another friend that swears by a pattern similar under willow trees. I’m glad you escaped the snapping turtle. Take care, keep fishing.

Leave a Reply

