May 28th, A Fattening Hatch

May 28, 2009

 

Light Hendrickson MayflyThe LandscapeI watched the Light Hendrickson’s hatch again today, I have been trying to watch this from the same section of stream several times during the entirety of this hatch to well, just to watch it and observe. Once again the cattle were around and that combined with almost an inch of rain yesterday made for some transparency issues on the stream today, that didn’t impede the hatch any, I think it prevented the trout from eating though.

I got to the stream and immediately saw several Light Hendrickson’s hatching, I collected a few and took photos, saw no rising trout. I waited for quite a while watching the same spot noticing a greatly increased volume of mayflies. I counted 5-10 pass every 10-20 seconds, this is much more than I observed last week. I expected to see rising trout and after a while and a little hiking to find some cleaner water I did in fact find rising trout. I love watching an excited trout rush your fly from the depths, keeps you on your toes man. I had a blast, caught several but most were small. I was a little disappointed that the hole containing the larger fish was being trampled by the cattle again, this kept the flow very muddy and I just watched hundreds of mayflies hatch without a single rise. I would be getting on stream earlier than you might think for this hatch, I would say to get a jump on it be ready at 10:30am and thats rigged and ready to go.

3 Responses to “May 28th, A Fattening Hatch”

  1. Brian said

    That first picture is awesome– new header pic? Great looking little brown trout too– good job!

    –Brian j

    • Right on! Thanks man, I was thinking about putting it as a header, I wish the camera I had was just alittle better, the pictures would really be nice then. Keep up the Reno Cutthroat Love man!

  2. Stino –

    Lets get out tomorrow….or maybs tonight?!

    Will call you.

Leave a Reply

