Wed. April 7th

April 9, 2009

The sun on arrival.Making this a quick report due to two factors, 1 same stream from last report and 2 lack of time. I hit the stream at 9am and went through my ritual. I assessed the water temp and stream situation, the lack of rain here is keeping water levels low and crystal clear. I fished the leech almost all day but today was more about covering ground than fishing. I wanted to see as much of this place as I could. 

I fished as I went and picked up browns as I enjoyed the warm sun, I think fishing the leech has improved my casting. I ate lunch in the sun on a rock watching trout take what I believe were baetis nymphs from the drift. At noon the fish were active with water temps around 47 and the BWO’s were coming soon. 

Nice Brown!

I saw geological features that I didn’t know Minnesota had and saw beautiful fish as I went. Made it as far as I thought was good for the day and took a moment to take everything in, something about being in a place far away from others, far from cell phone reception. Interesting how something so peaceful can be almost freighting when you realize your so far from others.

Black dots on this fish. Note: White spiky bumps on face.I picked up these as I went and have a questions.

  •  What is it?
  • Is it native?
  • Are the dots on its face/body/fins a disease?
  • Why did I find them only in one section of stream?

My only opinion of these fish is they are a pain in the ass. Every time I get a strike and set the hook a little chub comes flying at me. It makes getting hit up less exciting I guess. 

BWO Dry Fly and a Baetis Mayfly

The baetis came at around 1:15pm due to warmer air temp. It lasted until 3pm but I had a difficult time finding rising fish and I wasn’t spooking them. I fished a dry for a while and got no where but I still had a great day. I love this. Never did take a brookie but had another excellent day. Note: I do not take this time for granted, it is precious little and I look twice at everything so I remember it tomorrow.

3 Responses to “Wed. April 7th”

  1. Creek chubs I think. Spiny bumps are called tubercules, and I believe they come and go according to reproductive cycle of the fish. They are a pretty tolerant specie.

    Looks like a great day. Amazing landscape we have around us.

  2. The black spots are worms of some sort, tubercules are a bit different and looks like spikes and not spots.

    When you find chubs you should fish a chub fly like an articulated zoo cougar or an articulated injured minnow pattern as trout do eat chubs.

    They are native and they are probably only in a few sections on the creek because the browns have ate the rest of them.

Leave a Reply

