Professor F.F. is Back

February 20, 2009

I was invited back to speak with students from Winona Senior High’s Fish and Wildlife class. I did my previous presentation with alittle bit of new information that I have added since the last time I gave my trout dork speech. This time, however, I found I had to fight alittle to get students to respond but they came around towards the end when I got into tying. 

I discussed trout in Minnesota ranging from species, location, and behavior including spawning and feeding. We also discussed habitat, conservation and my desire to start volunteering for the MPCA which I plan to begin spring/summer. 

I tied two flies for the students explaining how each would be fished under different situations. The PT nymph because of its wide range of application. I explained how it is fished is related to the behavior of the trout and the habitat in which they live, understanding both will enhance your fly fishing. I also tied a size 20 Midge Larva to explain how trout will take such a small meal when that meal comes in large quantities and requires few calories to acquire, but that at the same time (as I learned with the Marabou Leech) when the fish are holding and there is no single food item they are keyed into, that fishing something larger providing more incentive to a holding trout may be better, maximize calorie intake while minimizing output. 

I hope I left a few with something they will want to look back on, if anything perhaps they will think about the area they live in a slightly different way, I know when I began to fly fish I began looking at this place in a different, better way. 

3 Responses to “Professor F.F. is Back”

  1. Up and running…got a few new flies for ‘ya!!!

    Best,

    PT/TB

  2. Bobbie Carroll said

    Excellent to see you are taking time to share your interests with the next generation and teach the value of caring for our environment

  3. winonaflyfactory said

    Thanks mom, I love knowing you check this out. Must think I’m a dork with the bug pictures and all but I appreciate your help in my adventure. Little did we know it would expand into this, I’m glad it has.

Leave a Reply

