Knowledge is the key…

November 20, 2008

Knowledge is the key to continued resources with regards to many things but for this purpose trout and the habitat in which they live. As a result I have done a bit of research and am ready to present a lecture on trout to students taking Fish and Wildlife at Winona Senior High School. I will be presenting next Wednesday at 10:30am. It is my goal to give a lecture outlining the following:

Trout In MN

  • History and Description of Species
  • Habitat and Location in MN
  • Reproduction both natural and hatchery raised.
  • Diet and food source
  • Behavior
  • Threats in the form of overfishing and depletion of habitat with a C&R discussion.
  • Conservation 

I’m sure I will bore several students to sleep but I have been organizing several videos from youtube combined with images from my experiences and I think I’ll do fine. I’m going to collect macro-invertebrate samples the morning of to give the kids live visual aides. If you can think of something I should include that I haven’t mentioned here please let me know. Knowing the importance of the water I fish, I really want to impress upon these kids the fragility of the water they live around and I’m sure a few live on trout streams.

5 Responses to “Knowledge is the key…”

  1. Sounds like a great program – wish I could sit in on it.

  2. winonaflyfactory said

    I hope I can give good accurate information. What are the major threats to trout habitat? Farm Runoff? I’m having a hard time with this one. Thanks

  3. Habitat can be discussed somewhat apart from the traditional definition of “water quality.” For example, you have trout streams that feature excellent trout habitat, but often run very turbid for short durations. Frequent and prolonged turbid flow will impact habitat… so they are related.

    It’s risky to list threats to habitat without sufficient discussion (too long to provide here), but here is a two summary, as I see it:

    (1) Too much water. Intense flows carry a lot of energy, which can eat banks and create an unstable channel. An unstable channel will often beget poor habitat. Impervious surfaces (pavement) and drainage typically increase flows.
    (2) Not enough perennial vegetation (too much row crop ag). Perennial veg holds soil in place and also infiltrates water.

  4. winonaflyfactory said

    Thanks Wendy, that gives something to work with. I’m going to also have to keep this semi-brief so explaining it as such might be the best way.

  5. With high schoolers you need to consider and eco-system approach to keep them engage. Include the bugs, water, all the fishes (not just trout), the flowers, the forests, the row crops, the highways,the birds, and the caves. This way you will communicate to the whole instead of just saying what you would like to hear in a lecture.

    Also – get them to participate as much as possible. I typically use ice breakers in my lectures. There is one that I have in mind that works wonders for all ages however cannot be bothered with typing the explanation here. Give me a call if you want this idea.

    H-man

Leave a Reply

