The Hunt for Macro’s continues…

November 18, 2008

Left work the other day with an hour of light. The air temp on my way to the stream was 29 degrees but I was layered well and ready for a short romp in the water. There is something very calming and peaceful about being on the water at dusk. I stopped to watch a trout rise almost every two minutes to take something off the top of the water. I love watching trout hold a feeding pattern, something to take note of when it comes time to cast that fly. I collected samples from a specific spot on this stream because I fished downstream of where I took samples last season with my friend Heath. I remember I caught a few trout on Light Cahill dry flies. 

                   Sample Site       Water Temp       W.F.F. in the Water

I drove home when I could no longer see well enough to take samples. Note: the water temp was a nice cool 40-41 degrees. I drove home in the dark listening to MPR. It reminded me of many trips this summer driving home after dark listening to the radio. It was a crisp but good hour in the stream. When I got home I examined my samples and found interesting results. 

       Macaffertium vicarium or ithaca?  Ephemerella?   Baetis nymph

                                   What is this?   Macaffertium  

It gave me confidence to remember I caught trout on Light Cahill patterns and then to find nymphs from the Macaffertium family. I haven’t come to a conclusion between Vicarium or Ithica but I’m going to figure it out. I also found several Baetis and Emphemerella nymphs. Note: the brighter yellow on the Baetis and as a result of that yellow I tied several size 16 and 18 Hare’s Ears with yellow and cream bodies. I’ll be posting new flies soon. One last thing to discuss here would be the second to last photo above. I have yet to figure out what it is. The side of the macro you can’t see has several suckers on it. It is definitely not a caddis larva, and it was very long probably 12-14mm. Anyone have any thoughts? I’ll be looking too.

 

Could it be a Cranefly larva?

3 Responses to “The Hunt for Macro’s continues…”

  1. Yes – I believe it is a cranefly larva. AKA water worm. AKA trout candy. I have heard that trout really love to pound on those babies. I’ve tried a pattern, and it works pretty well. Not enough time with it to determine whether or not it’s better than other nymphs though. Some pretty experienced fisherman have high praise for cranefly larva imitations.

  2. winonaflyfactory said

    It looked like trout candy, all big and fat and whatnot. Cranefly it is.

  3. swittersb said

    Connect with TroutNut.com and perhaps run some of your findings by him. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

