May Fly Entomology Pt. 1

October 26, 2008

Looking forward, knowing that the urge is always there, driving by streams because they are out of the way. I have been working on Midges for winter and will continue but in an effort to prepare for the prime season I have been reading up on the Mayfly and in specific the varieties that are of importance to my waters.

 

The task has been very interesting and makes me wish I had started trout hunting much earlier in the season last year. Seeing naturals will be the best way to talor my flies to what the trout here eat. With out that the best I can do is read. With a few hatch charts for this area I have picked the main species of mayfly in this area to research further.

http://files.dnr.state.mn.us/areas/fisheries/lanesboro/se_mn_hatches_080405.pdf

                                           

http://www.troutnut.com/hatch/4/Insect-Ephemeroptera-Mayflies

Hatches 2 is going to be my primary source for specific size and color variations for the species I find in the hatch charts. Along with the specific species they break down into four main categories according to nymphal type.

1. The Crawlers

The Super Crawlers Family Emphemerellidae, The Feeble-Legged Crawlers Family Leptophlebiidae, The Tiny Crawlers Family Tricorythidae and Caenidae

2. The Clingers

The Fast Water Clingers Family Heptageniidae

3. The Burrowers

The Slit Dwelling Burrowers Families Ephemeridae, Potamanthidae and Polymitarcyidae

4. The Swimmers

The Darting Swimmers Families Baetidae, Siphloridae and Metretopodidae.

 

I like the descriptive terms the book uses to help you remember key information about the characteristics of the real life insect such as “silt dwelling” useful to know where and when you will find these insects on the stream. In posts over the next few weeks I will look at specific species of mayfly in these four categories. It is my hope that posting the important information for my area will help me make much better choices with regards to fly tying. This is how I will prepare for next season without having the experiences I will get next season.

Leave a Reply

