Tying Caddis

October 13, 2008

Spent the evening after work tying Caddis flies with the deer hair from a section of hide that Liz and I cleaned and cured last week. The hair is excellent and for some reason is a better quality than the elk hair I bought the last time I was at the store. The elk at the store would stack but would have misshapen hair. I tied these flies with antenna made of lemon wood duck. I’m curious as to why these are not common on store bought caddis. Do they affect the way the fly casts? Do others not tie them on because it takes alittle longer? I personally like the antenna. I tied a dozen and a half tonight and I’ll try for the same tomorrow. That makes 12 1/2 of 50 Dozen.

Leave a Reply

