Working on the Midges

October 8, 2008

I have been tying midges from patterns I’ve found hoping they will produce some fish this winter season. I tied a dozen and a half midge larva and a half dozen cdc midge emergers (I think thats what they are, i.e. novice) in size 18. That makes 8/50 dozen flies tied.

            


I tied the Cdc on a no weight midge larva to simulate the bubble that helps move the larva from the bottom of the stream to the top. I have much to learn about Midges in general. I will do some reading and tie more when I’m more confident the patterns I tie will work on the water I can’t wait to fish.

Leave a Reply

